There is no single best gluten-free app for everyone: to know where to eat, Find Me Gluten Free has the largest review base we know of, and national associations (AIC in Italy, Coeliac UK) publish venues they train and inspect. For groceries, you need a scanner that also flags contamination risks, which Yuka does not do.

Transparency: Nutrixe, which publishes this article, is itself a scanner and map app. It is not ranked below; it is presented separately, after the table.

This article is for people with celiac disease, for whom a trace of gluten triggers a reaction. If you avoid gluten by choice, almost any app will do.

Method and criteria

Survey carried out in October 2026, on each app’s App Store listing and its publisher’s website (list at the end of the article). We looked at:

  • the question it answers: a product (scanner) or a place (map);
  • where the information comes from: community reviews, inspection by an association, product database;
  • traces: does the app flag contamination risks, or only ingredients?
  • the price of what matters to a celiac;
  • the languages shown on the App Store;
  • offline use, when the publisher mentions it;
  • personal data: account required, advertising, and tracking as declared by the publisher in the App Store privacy label (Apple states that it does not verify these declarations).

What the publisher does not say, we do not fill in: it is marked “not stated”. We have not tested every app in every country.

Two questions, not one

A gluten-free app answers one of two questions:

  1. Where can I eat? A map of venues.
  2. Is this product suitable for me? A barcode scanner that reads the ingredient list.

Most answer only one. The order below follows that logic: apps designed for gluten first, general-purpose tools after.

1. Find Me Gluten Free — the largest review base

Created in 2010. A worldwide map of restaurants, cafés and shops, fed by its community’s reviews; the publisher announces more than a million reviews. Celiac reviews often describe the kitchen, the staff, the fryer.

Price: free with ads. Premium at $24.99 a year: no ads, “Most Celiac Friendly” sort (dedicated kitchens and places the community considers safe first), dedicated fryer filter. The publisher states that the sort hides no venue from the free version: it orders them.

Limits: reviews are testimonies, not inspections; a venue with no recent review tells you nothing; English only; no scanner. How it differs from Nutrixe, and alternatives to Find Me Gluten Free.

2. Fig — the multi-restriction scanner

You declare your diet among more than 2,800 options (gluten-free, low FODMAP, allergies…), you scan, the app tells you whether the product fits. Several profiles within one family. According to its publisher, it also flags ingredients exposed to cross-contamination.

Price: free with limits; the Fig+ subscription unlocks unlimited scans and the restaurant section. Limits: English only, published in the United States. In its privacy label, the publisher declares using location to track the user.

3. Spoonful — same principle, simpler

One profile, one scan, one verdict. The publisher says it detects visible and hidden gluten, including contact risks such as oats, with content reviewed by dietitians who are themselves celiac.

Price: free with limits; “Unlimited” subscription at $4.99 a month or $29.99 a year. Limits: English only, US App Store.

4. National association apps

These are not review directories: venues are listed because the association has trained them and inspects them.

  • AIC Mobile (Italy): the “Alimentazione Fuori Casa” section lists venues in the AIC network, trained in celiac disease and visited at least once a year. Free for members, basic version free for everyone, full “Welcome” access at €3.99 for visitors. Italian and English.
  • Live Well Gluten Free by Coeliac UK (United Kingdom): around 3,000 venues accredited by the association and more than 185,000 checked products. Members only.

Limit: each covers its own country.

5. Open Food Facts — the open database

The official app of the collaborative product database. Free, no account needed to scan (an account is used for history), available in more than 120 languages. It offers alerts on 14 allergen families, gluten included, and warns itself that its data may be incomplete or out of date. Useful for contributing: every label you photograph helps everyone.

6. Yuka — nutrition, not safety

Scores a product out of 100 and suggests alternatives. The gluten alert is part of the Premium food preferences, and its help centre states that it does not take “traces” statements into account. No ads, six languages including English. The details, and alternatives to Yuka for gluten-free.

7. Gluten Free Global — the map by volume

The publisher announces more than 100,000 venues worldwide, “recommended” by its community; its verification method is not described. Subscription at $0.99 a month or $12.99 a year. English only.

8. Google Maps — everyone’s tool

Opening hours, photos, directions, reviews everywhere in the world. But a listing or review that says “gluten-free” does not distinguish a dedicated kitchen from an adaptable dish, and the review often comes from someone who is not celiac. Perfect for getting there, not for judging the level.

The table

✓ yes · ✓ € yes, as a paid option · ✗ no · “limited”: free with limits · – not stated by the publisher. Nutrixe, our app, is in the last column, outside the ranking. “Tracking”: what the publisher declares on the App Store. The details of each cell are in the app’s presentation above.

Find Me Gluten Free Fig Spoonful AIC Mobile Coeliac UK Open Food Facts Yuka Gluten Free Global Google Maps Nutrixe
Product scanner ✗ ✓ ✓ ✗ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✓
Restaurant map ✓ ✓ € ✗ ✓ ✓ ✗ ✗ ✓ ✓ ✓
Contamination flagged ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ – ✗ – ✗ ✓
Free ✓ limited limited limited ✗ ✓ limited ✗ ✓ ✓
Available in English ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓
Offline – – – – – – ✓ € – – ✓ €
No account – – – ✗ ✗ ✓ – – ✓ ✓
No ads ✗ – – – – – ✓ – – ✓
No declared tracking ✓ ✗ ✓ – – ✓ ✓ ✓ – ✓

How to choose

  • You are doing your shopping: a scanner that reads traces. In the United States, Fig or Spoonful; in the United Kingdom, the Coeliac UK app if you are a member.
  • You are travelling: Find Me Gluten Free for breadth and first-hand experience, the national association’s app when one exists, Maps for directions.
  • You avoid gluten by choice: any of them; Yuka will help you with nutrition.

To go further: which scanner to choose and which restaurant map.

Where Nutrixe fits

Nutrixe does both: a scanner and a map.

  • The scanner reads the ingredient list (via Open Food Facts): wheat, barley, rye and their derivatives in six languages, malt, oats (classed as a trace risk unless labelled), starch of unspecified origin, “may contain” statements. It distinguishes a product certified by a third-party body from a mere “gluten-free” claim by the manufacturer, and never says “gluten-free” on the strength of a list alone.
  • The map has more than 3,400 venues in 33 countries, each checked by a person: real level (dedicated kitchen, menu, options), named risks, sources and date.

Scanner, verdict and map are free and unlimited, with no account, no ads, no tracking. The subscription adds offline use, travel lists, history and themes. Six languages, iPhone and Android.

What it does not do: no community reviews; far fewer venues than Find Me Gluten Free or Google Maps; no nutrition score; opening hours missing when they could not be checked. Like any scanner, it depends on a database that can lag behind the recipe: the label has the final word. Our method · the app.

What we don’t know

Prices, features and languages are those displayed publicly in October 2026; they change. The privacy declarations are the publishers’ own, not verified by Apple. If any information is inaccurate, report it: this page will be corrected.

Sources